Caroline Voclain

Welcome Guest!

Welcome to UK Pagan; The Valley

Like most online communities we require you to register for an account before we give you access to read and post.

Only a small number of our forum areas can be read without registering for an account.

Monica Soto
Moonlight Forest
Please consider visiting our kind sponsor: Moonlight Forest
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Kitchenwitch

Mixing Pantheons - Gods from different Pantheons?

Guest Kitchenwitch

I am still quite new to Witchcraft and enjoy it immensely but I still have a niggle about Deities. I read that you are not supposed to mix pantheons but I am constantly drawn to Hecate and Herne The Hunter . I have tried to substitute Pan but Herne is the One that calls to me. Does anyone else have this problem and if so how do you get your head round it?

Hope someone can help

Blessings

Kitchenwitch

Ad from Google

Pomona

Hi Kitchenwitch :)

The Gods can be real buggers sometimes - not appearing when you need them to, sending others, and just generally doing whatever they want! :( :huh:

My main pantheon is Roman (and it's only the female deities who appear from there really), but the god who visits is Herne. And I honestly have no idea why. I have no connection to any of the other Celtic or Saxon gods, just him.

I'm a firm believer in the Gods choosing you rather than the other way around.

The "Thou Shalt Not Mix Your Deities" thing is not a real commandment as such, it's more a "only do this if you're sure and if you're prepared for the outcome" :D

Unless you're very sure then don't try and invoke them both in the same rite, that kind of thing.

Like inviting a Muslim and a Jew to dinner and then discussing religion... You might find they're very tolerant and able to have an intelligent discussion, or you could find yourself acting as referee while they attempt to smash each other (and your house) up.