Welcome Guest!

Welcome to UK Pagan; The Valley

Like most online communities we require you to register for an account before we give you access to read and post.

Only a small number of our forum areas can be read without registering for an account.

The Magick Shop
Please consider visiting our kind sponsor: The Magick Shop
Sign in to follow this  
Guest otaku

Herb Magic Books

Guest otaku

Does anyone have any good reccomendations? Im new to Herb magic, so something simple, but not twaddle!

xx

Ad from Google

Guest Tas Mania

Avoid Scott Cunningham like the plague!

Try Googling for Sacred Texts to see what they have on things herbal - you could save yourself a few bob!

The Links Forum should also have sites on herbs etc.

Edited by Tas Mania

Guest Theallknowing

Hi Otaku,

I second Tas' caution, avoid things written by Scott Cunningham or books published by LLewlylen (sp?)

As a herbalist I have found many of the old folk lore and herbal remedy books useful; try searching in old book shops!

The four useful books in terms of herb lore and magick for me were;

- Culpepper's Complete Herbal

A must have for anyone interested in using herbs to heal, it gives explanations of the plants and the records of tried and tested remedies and their correspondances.

- The Elements of Natural Magic Marian Green

I am a bit of a fan of Marian if I'm honest, I have found her work and most things published by Aquarain really useful.

- The Magical and Ritual Use of Herbs Richard Alan Miller

Really useful and a good insight drawing cultural and domestic uses and putting them into context.

- A Modern Herbal Mrs M. Grieves

A good and accurate and resourcefull 'Herbal' A must for anyone working with herbs.

If I can help at all then just ask.

Bright Blessings

TAK

Guest Thinair