Monica Soto

Welcome Guest!

Welcome to UK Pagan; The Valley

Like most online communities we require you to register for an account before we give you access to read and post.

Only a small number of our forum areas can be read without registering for an account.

Help to keep this website running - Become a Patron.

Help to keep UK Pagan online...
Become a Patron!
Sign in to follow this  
Hazel

Meditation And Journeying

Hazel

Hello everyone,

As you will be able to tell from my introduction I am very new to the pagan path and can sometimes feel a little overwhelmed at the amount of information there is learn and understand. So I really do value any input people feel they can share.

I have a question relating to the subject of meditation and journeying. I am trying to understand what the difference is between the two.

From my understanding meditation is often based in Eastern traditions which focus on the emptying of the mind so that realisation may be obtained. Whilst journeying is based in more Western traditions which are sourced in the richness of story telling.

However I am not sure how correct my line of thinking is.

It would be great to hear what others think about this subject.

Also, would the two methods offer the same benefits or not?

I ask this last point because in my own experience people have taught me that journeying is meditation and yet I am not so sure.

Thank you

Ad from Google

Pomona

Good topic :lol:

I personally see meditation and journeying as being done for different reasons. When I meditate I do so to clear my mind and allow ideas, information etc to come in as it will - or not, as the case may be. When I journey, it's for a specific purpose, to achieve or find out something. Basically, for me, meditation is more passive and journeying is more active.

Moonsmith

I'm interested in the answers to this one. I'm finding confusion between the concepts of "meditation" and "path-working".